Security is one of the reasons for the immense success of Apple in the phone industry. No one can get access to your iPhone if you have locked it with a passcode. But it’s a very stressful moment when you see a message “iPhone is disabled” on your phone. Don’t worry, we will tell you simple steps to unlock your phone yourself by following simple steps.
You may have set your iPhone to wipe itself after 10 failed attempts at entering your passcode, which will also lock it after ten unsuccessful attempts. Luckily, it’s a safe way to ensure you can get in contact with your account if you lose your iPhone, so just make sure you back up your Apple account regularly and keep your data safe.
Why the iPhone gets disabled?
Six unsuccessful passcode attempts will result in an iPhone being disabled for 1 minute. Your account will be locked for five minutes after the seventh incorrect attempt, fifteen minutes after the eighth, and an hour after the tenth attempt. When you or someone else have entered the incorrect passcode multiple times and still has not succeeded, the message iPhone is Disabled; Connect to iTunes appears. Despite the stressful situation, you don’t need to worry. We will help you recover your disabled iPhone by following easy steps.
Let’s fix it!
There are 2 possible ways to reset your iPhone back to factory settings without data loss:
- Unlock using iTunes
- Unlock using “Find My iPhone”
Unlock using iTunes
If your iPhone is disabled, before processing with the recovery, make sure there’s an available backup through iCloud or iTunes. Otherwise, your data in the iPhone will vanish, and there is no way back!
- Connect your iPhone via USB cable with the computer and start the iTunes.
- For iPhone 8 or above:
If you have an iPhone 8 or later, press the Volume Up and Volume Down button simultaneously, then press and hold the Power button until you see the “Connect to iTunes” screen.
For iPhone 7
If you have an iPhone 7, press and hold the Power button for three seconds, then swipe the “Power off” slider to the right. Finally, press and hold the Volume Down until you see the “Connect to iTunes” screen.
For iPhone 6s or older
If you have an iPhone 6s or older, press and hold the Power button for three seconds, then swipe the “Power off” slider to the right. Then press and hold the Home button until you see the “Connect to iTunes” screen.
- Once your iPhone is connected to iTunes, you will see a screen with three buttons; Restore, Update and cancel.
Click on the Restore button.
- After clicking, your iPhone will be restored to its original factory settings. Just follow the instructions on your iPhone’s screen and your phone will be reset.
Unlock using “Find My iPhone“
“Find My iPhone” is a feature that helps you track your iOS device such as iPad, iPhone, or iPod when they’re stolen or lost. Moreover, it helps with unlocking your iPhone if it’s disabled.
The “Find My iPhone” function of iCloud allows you to locate your phone remotely using its GPS and internet connection so certain features can be controlled remotely. If you lose your iPhone before it is enabled, “Find My iPhone” will work on an iPhone 3GS and newer iPhones that are running iOS 5 and higher
- Open Find My iPhone website in any browser
- In the drop down list of several devices, find your iPhone in the menu and click on it.
- After clicking “Erase iPhone”, click “Confirm” to confirm. This requires entering your Apple ID password, but you won’t need your iPhone’s passcode.
- When it’s erased, the iPhone will be returned to its factory settings and can be restored with a recent backup.
The locked iPhone issue is typically easy to fix. It might involve a heartbreak over a missing backup, but the process itself should go smoothly if you’re following the above spets. If you still need assistance, feel free to schedule a fyx with us to have a technician repair your phone at your location. We’ll do our best to bring it back to normal.